About_Brunswick & Midcoast
Brunswick & Midcoast


Brunswick History

The Town of Brunswick has served many roles as a military garrison, manufacturing center, college town and residential community.

First called by its Indian name, Pejepscot, meaning “the long, rock rapids,” the settlement was placed under the protection of the Massachusetts Bay Colony in 1639. In 1676 the town was burned and largely abandoned with the exception of a military garrison called Fort Andros until 1714 when a consortium from Boston and Portsmouth bought the land. In 1717 the Massachusetts General Court constituted the township and renamed it Brunswick in honor of the House of Brunswick and King George I. The fledgling village was destroyed again on July 13, 1722 when warriors from Norridgewock burned it to the ground.

Brunswick was again rebuilt in 1727 and in 1739 was incorporated as a town. Brunswick shortly became a prosperous seaport where Bowdoin College was chartered in 1794. The distinguished alumni of the liberal arts college include writers Hawthorne and Longfellow, President Franklin Pierce, Civil War hero Joshua Chamberlain and Olympic Gold Medalist Joan Benoit Samuelson. The book Uncle Tom’s Cabin was written by Harriet Beecher Stowe while she was living in Brunswick.

Handsome houses line the town’s main streets and today a number of historic districts are recognized on the National Register of Historic Places. Be sure to save some time during your trip to visit Brunswick museums that celebrate the town’s rich history of shipbuilders and sea captains, war heroes and politicians.

Brunswick & Midcoast Maine

Historic and picturesque, Brunswick mixes New England charm with a thriving arts and entertainment culture. Visitors can explore more than fifty ethnically-diverse restaurants, distinctive retail shops, Bowdoin College and its museums and beautiful campus, summer musical theater, a year-round Farmers Market, and cultural offerings at the Town’s many theaters, galleries, museums, and festive community events—nearly all in walking distance of the vibrant downtown.

The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern is adjacent to the Bowdoin College campus and steps from the heart of downtown Brunswick giving our guests easy access to a variety of events, activities and attractions right outside the hotel doors. Portland, Maine’s largest city, is approximately thirty minutes from the property offering additional museums, water adventures and dining. And Freeport is only fifteen minutes away featuring LL Bean’s flagship store as well as numerous outlet and shopping opportunities.

Named one of the Top 20 “Best Small Towns in America” by Smithsonian magazine in 2012 because of our high concentration of arts and culture, museums and historical sites per capita, the activities are limitless.

Via the Amtrak Downeaster or the Maine Eastern Railroad, the newly developed Brunswick Station connects visitors from both South and North to Maine’s Midcoast region. Located on Station Avenue adjacent to Bowdoin College and right across the street from the Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, this exciting station features the Brunswick Visitors Center, restaurants and pubs, financial institutions and a walk-in clinic.

The rocky Midcoast of Maine is a region with an abundance of outdoor recreation and activities for travelers wishing to take some time to reconnect with nature and take in the sites of our timeless coast. Be sure to pack your sneakers or hiking shoes and set aside some time for the great outdoors.

Androscoggin Bicycle & Pedestrian Path
The 2.63 mile paved pathway offers scenic views of the Androscoggin River between downtown Brunswick and Cook’s Corner. It is a popular location for bicycling, jogging and roller blading.

Androscoggin Brunswick-Topsham Riverwalk
Enjoy a stroll along the Androscoggin on the 1.25 mile loop. The path links the Frank J. Wood Bridge to the Androscoggin Swinging Bridge along the river.

Reid State Park
Interested in communing with nature? Discover a paradise of sand dunes, hiking trails, bird watching and a magnificent beach! (375 Seguinland Rd, Georgetown.)